Back to Top

Wests Tigers team named: Taylor keeps the faith for trip to Canberra

West Tigers fullback James Tedesco against Canberra last season.

Tough trip: West Tigers fullback James Tedesco against Canberra last season.

After a terrible, mistake riddled performance on Sunday against Penrith it would not have surprised anyone if personnel changes were made for the round three clash with the Canberra Raiders this weekend in the national capital.

But in naming his team earlier this afternoon, the Wests Tigers coach Jason Taylor has kept the faith with the players who suffered a humiliating 36-2 defeat at Campbelltown Sports Stadium in round 2.

Taylor has named virtually the same run on side which was mauled by the Panthers.

The only changes have come about because of injury, or overcoming one.

A foot injury means Jamal Idris has been ruled out of this Sunday’s clash with the Canberra Raiders at GIO Stadium.

This has allowed Taylor to bring forward Joel Edwards into the squad of 17.

And while the starting side remains unchanged from the clash with Penrith, Tim Grant makes his return on the bench after an illness.

Rookie prop forward Junior Tatola has been included on the extended bench, as has backrower Kyle Lovett, utility Justin Hunt and experienced hooker Matt Ballin.

Lovett, Hunt and Ballin have also been named in the club’s Intrust Super Premiership side, who will search for their first win against the New Zealand Warriors at Campbelltown Sports Stadium on Saturday.

Ballin made a successful comeback from a long-term knee injury last weekend with the Intrust Super Premiership side.

Wests Tigers will need to be wary of Canberra, who are also smarting after getting smashed 42-16 at home by the premiers, Cronulla Sharks, on the weekend.

In Holden Cup, Chris Hutchison’s side will look to bounce back in Canberra after suffering a 36-4 defeat to Penrith, with a relatively unchanged side set to travel to GIO Stadium.

 Wests Tigers NRL – Round 3 v Canberra Raiders:

1. James Tedesco

2. David Nofoaluma

3. Kevin Naiqama

4. Michael Chee Kam

5. Moses Suli

6. Mitchell Moses

7. Luke Brooks

8. Aaron Woods (C)

9. Matt McIlwrick

10. Ava Seumanufagai

11. Sauaso Sue

12. Chris Lawrence

13. Elijah Taylor


14. Tim Grant

15. Josh Aloiai

16. Joel Edwards

17. Jack Littlejohn

18. Junior Tatola

19. Justin Hunt

20. Kyle Lovett

21. Matt Ballin


We Support