Back to Top

Lawrence to miss season start after breaking his jaw at training

Veteran Chris Lawrence has suffered a broken jaw at training which will mean he will miss the start of the 2019 NRL season.

Wests Tigers confirmed the injury and said Lawrence will consult a surgeon in Auckland today.

The team is in New Zealand to play its only preseason trial against New Zealand Warriors this Saturday, March 2.

 Wests Tigers Head Coach Michael Maguire has named a strong squad for the match at Northland Events Centre in Whangarei.

Kickoff is scheduled at 5pm local time (3pm AEDT).

The Wests Tigers lineup will feature new recruits Ryan Matterson and Robert Jennings for the first time.

Matterson will start in the back row while Jennings starts in the centres alongside Esan Marsters, with Corey Thompson retaining his spot on the left wing.

Club life members Benji Marshall and Robbie Farah will start the match at five-eighth and hooker respectively, with Josh Reynolds and Jacob Liddle to come off the bench.

Moses Mbye will captain the team for the first time since his unveiling as captain earlier this month.

The club’s Intrust Super Premiership side Western Suburbs Magpies will also be in action on the day.

Both games will be broadcast live on FOX League (Channel 502) from 12pm AEDT.

Wests Tigers NRL team v Warriors: 

1. Moses Mbye (captain.)

2. Corey Thompson

3. Robert Jennings

4. Esan Marsters

5. David Nofoaluma

6. Benji Marshall

7. Luke Brooks

8. Russell Packer

9. Robbie Farah

10. Ben Matulino

11. Luke Garner

12. Ryan Matterson

13. Elijah Taylor


14. Josh Reynolds

15. Matt Eisenhuth

16. Alex Twal

17. Michael Chee Kam

18. Mahe Fonua

19. Chris McQueen

20. Jacob Liddle

21. Thomas Mikaele

We Support