Back to Top

Magpies, Wests Tigers head into second round full of confidence

Magpies score a try

Touchdown: the Magpies score a try in their 32-10 win over the Bulldogs last Saturday.

Both the Wests Tigers and the Western Suburbs Magpies head into round two of their respective competitions with a win under their belt.

Ivan Cleary, head coach of the Wests Tigers, has named an unchanged 17 for the clash against the Storm in Melbourne on Saturday.

If they can show the same grit as they did against the Roosters in their 10-8 victory in round one the Wests Tigers will be no pushover for the reigning premiers at AAMI Park.

In the Intrust Super Premiership opener the Magpies were too strong for the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs winning 32-10.

The match saw former Magpies teammates Brett Hodgson and Steve Georgallis clash as opposing coaches for the first time.

The pair played together for the Magpies during the Tommy Raudonikis era.

The Magpies are back in reserve grade for the first time since 2012.

In round two the Brett Hodgson coached side will be at Leichhardt Oval on Saturday afternoon where it will host the Newcastle Knights.

Winger David Nofoaluma, who missed out on first grade selection, scored a double in the black and white.

And while that didn’t earn him a recall to the top grade against Melbourne, it is only a matter of time before he’s back wearing black and yellow.

Corey Thompson scores the winning try for the Wests Tigers

Winger Corey Thompson scores the winning try for the Wests Tigers in their 10-8 triumph over the Roosters in round one.

1. Tuimoala Lolohea
2. Corey Thompson
3. Esan Marsters
4. Kevin Naiqama
5. Malakai Watene-Zelezniak
6. Benji Marshall
7. Luke Brooks
8. Russell Packer (capt.)
9. Pita Godinet
10. Ben Matulino
11. Chris Lawrence
12. Robbie Rochow
13. Elijah Taylor
14. Matt McIlwrick
15. Alex Twal
16. Michael Chee Kam
17. Matt Eisenhuth
18. Josh Aloiai
19. David Nofoaluma
20. Tim Grant
21. Tyson Gamble
Coach: Ivan Cleary

1. Watson Heleta
2. Mahe Fonua
3. Taane Milne
4. Toni Tali
5. David Nofoaluma
6. Tyson Gamble
7. Josh Drinkwater
8. Sauaso Sue
9. Patrice Siolo
10. JJ Felise
11. Chris McQueen
12. Luke Garner (capt.)
13. Bayley Sironen
14. Joseph Ratu
15. Cowen Epere
16. Lucas Price
18. Braden Robson

We Support